Back to top

Who We Are


Des Graham
Assoc. Professor Desmond Graham

Appointed to the MS Australia Board in 2014, and appointed President in 2019, having served previously as vice president. Des also serves on the Board of MS Limited and MSRA and previously as Board Chair of MS Tasmania and has recently been appointed to the MSIF Board.

With over thirty five years' experience in health and human services, Des has held senior public sector positions in various States. He was the inaugural CEO for the Mental Health Council of Australia and has represented Australia at a number of international forums.

Des' qualifications include nursing, a Master of Science (Mental Health), and an adjunct position with the University of Tasmania. Six years after his diagnosis of MS he retired as the Deputy Secretary Children, and Executive Director, Policy, Information & Commissioning Groups, with the Department of Health and Human Services.

Professionally, one of Des' most prized achievements was the dedication of a Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Award to the Mental Health Council of Australia for his services to consumer and carer participation in health service planning and individual care.


George Pampacos
George Pampacos
Vice President

BCom, CA, Member of ICAA

George was appointed to the MS Australia board in 2017.  He joined the MSWA Board in 2010 as an appointed member. After Chairing the Audit and Risk Committee and Fundraising Committee, George became President of MSWA in 2013. George’s interest in MS is due to seeing his Mum and close friends live with the disease.

George’s background is of a financial nature. Graduating with a commerce degree in 1996, he has been a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants since 1999, a registered company auditor and a specialist Self-Managed Superannuation Fund (SMSF) auditor.

He is a director of Flinders Financial a financial services based business providing financial advice and planning for privately owned businesses and their owners.

Ron Brent


Ron was appointed to the MSA Board in 2018. He is also currently chair of the Australian Research Integrity Committee that considers disputes over research integrity providing advice to the CEO’s of the National Health and Medical Research Council and the Australian Research Council.

Ron recently retired as Australia’s first Aircraft Noise Ombudsman (ANO), having held the position from 2010 to 2017.  Prior to this, he held the role of Commonwealth Ombudsman for six months and before that, Deputy Commonwealth Ombudsman for seven years.  He also has experience in management and leadership having been Director of the National Film and Sound Archive for 10 years, as well as policy and legal roles in various Government departments.

 Ron has served on a number of Boards and is currently on the Board of the National Folk Festival alongside his roles with Multiple Sclerosis Limited and Multiple Sclerosis Australia.

Sharlene Brown
Sharlene was appointed to the MS Australia Board in July 2019, while also serving on the MS Limited Board. Her previous roles include Ambassador and Board Member of the MS organisations in Western Australia and Tasmania.  Sharlene was also Interim CEO of MS Tasmania during its merger with MS Limited.  
She brings to the Board extensive knowledge and experience as a legal and governance professional having previously worked as General Manager, Company Secretary, and General Counsel with a number of Tasmanian organisations. She is currently the Group General Counsel for a Tasmanian and Qld based organisation, and a guest lecturer with the University of Tasmania.  
Sharlene lives with RRMS, and understands first-hand the limitations a MS diagnosis may have on those affected. She is a water polo, and tee-ball coach for her son’s school and enjoys nothing more than those opportunities to be a ‘soccer Mum’ 
Chris Gillies
Christina Gillies

Chris Gillies is a person living with MS. In addition to serving on the Board of MS Australia since 2001, she serves on the Boards of MS Limited, holding the position of Chair from 2006-2013, Australian Home Care Services, and until recently MS Research Australia.

Chris brings to the Board extensive executive experience in mergers, acquisitions, organisational change and information technology. She is an independent Non-Executive Director serving on a number of boards and committees and advises boards on establishing IT Governance leadership. Prior to her board career, Chris was Group Executive, Group Services at St George Bank where her role included managing the integration with Advance, Chief Information Officer for the Bank of Melbourne and Victorian Director of the DMR Group.

Chris has over 20 years’ experience as a Director and more than 40 years’ experience in business management and IT.

Adrian Hinton
Adrian Hinton
Adrian was appointed to the MS Australia Board in July 2019 while also serving on the Board of The Multiple Sclerosis Society of South Australia & Northern Territory Inc as the Treasurer and Chair of the Financial Committee since November 2017.
He retired from Deloitte’s in July 2018 after 43 years of service, where he was a Principal in their Audit & Assurance group and was responsible for managing the audit services to various Adelaide based public and private companies, covering a wide range of industries.
Johanna Roche
Johanna Roche
Johanna was appointed to the MS Australia board in 2019. She is also the treasurer of MS Queensland’s board and Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee, having served as a board member since 2010.
Her other professional experience includes: Non-executive Director and Corporate Tax Consultant. Non-executive Director of Handball Australia and a number of private companies. Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Member of the Tax Institute of Australia. Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Former Partner of PwC Australia.
Garry R Whatley
Garry R Whatley
GAICD, BBus (Accounting and Information Technology), MBA (Chairman)
Garry was appointed to the MSA board in September 2019. He has served as the Chairman of MS Limited’s board since July 2019, having been previously appointed as a Non-Executive Director in 2009, and as Deputy Chairman in December 2013. He brings to the Board over 28 years of experience in the Information Technology industry and is well respected within his field.
Having both family and friends living with MS, Garry is passionate about and has a strong personal commitment to making a significant contribution to the goals of Multiple Sclerosis Limited (MS) through his extensive professional skills.