Back to top

Multiple Sclerosis Australia – New President and Vice President Elected

President and Vice President with CEO and PM
10 December 2018
(Pictured: Deidre Mackechnie (MS Australia CEO), Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Peter Day (MS Australia President) and Assoc Professor Des Graham (MS Australia Vice President)


Multiple Sclerosis Australia (MS Australia), Australia’s peak body representing the interests of people living with multiple sclerosis, carers and the broader community are very happy to announce that Peter Day LLB (Hons), M Administration, FCPA, FCA (Aust & UK), FTIA, MAICD (Chairman) has been elected as its new President.

Mr Day was elected President by the MS Australia Board at the latest board meeting Sunday 25 November, having served as a member since 2008.  Mr Day is also the Chairman of Multiple Sclerosis Limited (MSL) which governs the delivery of specialist services for people living with multiple sclerosis and their carers in Victoria, New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania.
Peter has extensive professional financial and general management experience in a range of industries including mining, manufacturing, food and financial services, along with a number of public interest areas.
Peter’s last Executive role was as Chief Financial Officer for the global packaging group Amcor; he has held Senior Executive and Director positions with Bonlac Foods, Rio Tinto, CRA and Comalco.
He is a former Chairman of the Australian Accounting Standards Board, and was Deputy Chairman of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. Current Directorships include Ansell, Federation Centres, Orbital and SAI Global.
Peter is also a member of the Accounting Professional and Ethical Standards Board and was appointed a member of the Takeovers Panel in February 2010.
Mr Day stated that he was “very excited to be elected by his peers to the role of President”  “I look forward to building on the great work of MS Australia to date.”
Assoc. Professor Des Graham Dip Ap Sc (Nursing), Adv Cert MH, MSc, MAICD, a member of the MS Australia Board since 2014 and serving Board member of MSL and previously Board Chair of Multiple Sclerosis Tasmania, was elected Vice President.
Assoc Professor Graham has personal experience living with multiple sclerosis (MS) having been diagnosed in 2008. 
With over thirty five years’ experience in health and human services, Des has held executive public sector positions in a number of  States across clinical, service delivery and policy and planning portfolios He was also the inaugural CEO for the Mental Health Council of Australia. Des has represented jurisdictions on a number of national forums including the Council of Australian Government committees at at international forums.
Having retired as Deputy Secretary with the Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania Assoc Professor Graham remains active within the University of Tasmania College of Health and Medicine, particularly within the Menzies Institute for Medical Research and its MS Flagship Program ‘Towards Ending MS.’ 
We look forward to the amazing input and vital experience both Peter and Des will bring to the organisation.
 We would also like to pay tribute to the outgoing President, Dr. Annette Carruthers for her invaluable service on our board. Thank you!
You can read more about our Board here: